10 Months

Wow! It feels so good to be closing in on that one year mark. I love this post about how length of sobriety doesn’t matter, but rather “the width” does (that kind of makes me want to giggle – sometimes I feel like a 12 year old boy in disguise). It makes perfect sense, but still, I’m enjoying counting down my first year of sobriety. It’s amazing how much has happened in the past ten months, how I’ve grown. I’m relishing every day, because I never knew I had it in me to do this, to get this far.

This morning I went to a new-to-me meeting. It’s a big book discussion, and it’s a really small group. I haven’t been going to any big book meetings regularly, so I’m going to try to go every Wednesday. My regular meetings fall mainly on the weekend, so having one mid-week will be beneficial. Anyway, it was good. Since it was a small group I felt comfortable enough to talk. I’m still battling my shyness, but at least I’m putting myself out there. A couple others close to my age were also there for the first time. We chatted a bit after, and I’m hoping to run into them again.

I’m feeling really good today, though I am still struggling with my issues from my last post. I also had a court appearance this week, and that’s one more scary obstacle I’ve conquered. Hopefully the end will soon be in sight, and I can move on with my life. In the meantime, I am doing a lot of work on me. I’m exploring meditation, trying to get into the habit of praying, am keeping in touch with my sponsor, getting back into regular workouts, taking a lot of time just for me. I deserve it.

4 thoughts on “10 Months

Leave a Reply

