Oy Vey

A quick update: I’m still alive and kicking. Good news! *wink, wink* And I’m still sober, but I am having a hard time with my new normal. Getting out of jail and suddenly being surrounded by booze (my mom and her husband are drinkers) after being completely removed from it for half a year was a weird feeling. Like walking by an open beer made me feel…really uncomfortable. Almost like it was going to leap out and bite me. In fact, my entire state of mind is akin to my newly sober days. I am not coping as well as I was prior to my sentencing. I feel like I’ve taken 50 steps back in every aspect of my life and emotional well being. I’m not gonna lie, it sucks.

But I just wanted to let you all know that I am here and doing okay but still adjusting. Still trying to get caught up with all of you again. I just NOW checked my blog’s email account for the first time since I’ve been out. Oops! And there are others of you that I still need to reach out to and reconnect with. Please be patient with me, I’m in a bit of a tailspin at the moment. To all of you who are newly sober and checking out my blog (my stats are going up again, so I’m guessing that there are a lot of you here – Welcome!), I hope that you find my archives helpful. If you need help, do not hesitate to ask. Please email me if you’d like.

I hope you all had a great holiday season. I was spoiled as usual, and despite getting sick, had a wonderful time seeing family and friends I hadn’t seen in ages. And overindulging in lots of delicious food! I lost weight in jail, but I think I’ve gained most of it back already. No worries though, as I am out of that cold, depressing place! Today I applied for a job at my former place of employment. Unfortunately, it’s not my previous job, but it would be a step in the right direction. And trust me, direction would be great right now. Please cross your fingers for me.

Alright kids, be good! I promise to be back shortly.

One thought on “Oy Vey

  1. I know there are a lot or changes, but maybe someday you’ll know why. Maybe going back to the same house, same job, etc would’ve been the worst scenario for you. I hate that you’re living with drinkers because that would totally suck! I read on a previous comment a suggestion for you to go back and read your blog from the beginning. That sounds good. Or maybe find somebody else’s to read from beginning to end. Did you ever read sober journalist? I think I found you through her’s. You’re in a totally different life than you were in BJ (before jail, lol). You have to find yourself. And you will. Stay strong. I know you’re smart enough to know that going back to drinking would be the very worst solution for all your stress. A job will help tremendously.

    Also (and I don’t expect you to respond to this), I went to a doctor and got on Wellbutrin when I quit drinking. It helps so much with the emotional aspect of it. I’ve been on some form of antidepressant for 10 years, but this one helped me kick smoking years ago, so I thought it would help with this too and I think it did. Just a thought…

Leave a Reply

